top of page

5 Love Languages - Everything you Need to Know

A few years ago, I read the book written by Dr. Gary Chapman called The 5 Love Languages.

In this book, he describes the different ways we as humans express and receive love.

Once I understood my husband's love language and my own, I was in a better position to communicate effectively with him and tailor my Girl with Game techniques accordingly.

General strategies are great, but it makes it a lot easier when you really know your man.

Here is a breakdown of the 5 love languages

Love language 1: Words of Affirmation

Those who appreciate words of affirmation express affection through spoken words, praise, or appreciation. This means a person craves kind words in the forms of compliments and reassurances that confirm their love. If a person's love language is words of affirmation, they need to hear what the other person is thinking or feeling frequently.

Tip: Give your man a shout-out on social media, praising him for an accomplishment, or give him a specific compliment about how good he looks.

Warning: Be gentle when criticizing or scolding him; your words can harm the relationship and his self-esteem more than you know.

Love language 2: Quality Time

If there is a need to spend quality time alone with a partner to bond, a person yearns to receive another's undivided attention. Enjoying each other's company, being present, and focusing on each other is key.

Tip: Surprise him with a weekend getaway or dedicate time in your day solely for him.

Warning: Put down the cell phone, make eye contact, and ensure the kids are in bed / occupied when communicating with him. Multitasking will make him feel neglected.

Love language 3: Physical Touch

People who need physical touch desire intimacy and affection. This could be in the form of hugging, cuddling, or any form of gentle contact.

Tip: Public displays of affection are appreciated. This could be holding hands, a kiss on the cheek, or a rub on the back. As long as it's subtle and appropriate, it will tangibly demonstrate affection.

Warning: Don't pull away or shrug off a touch. Avoid saying things like "You are annoying me". This is very hurtful for a person whose love language is physical touch.

Love language 4: Gifts

Gift-giving does not always indicate expensive or over the top, and it is often the sentimental gifts that matter most to a person who identifies love in this way. The energy and thought behind the gift matter most because the present symbolizes the other person's love.

Tip: Spend extra time arranging a gift and listening closely to the person's needs or likes.

Warning: Vouchers or gifts given after a special occasion could hurt the other person indirectly.

Love language 5: Acts of Service

For acts of service, a person feels valued when someone performs a helpful activity for the other. It could be running an errand for them, helping them with a task they are struggling with, or making sure the house is tidy and fresh when they come home.

Tip: Try surprising him with something unpredictable. If you have been too busy, dedicate a day to making him his favorite meal.

Warning: He might ask you for favors or errands, not because he's lazy, but instead because he needs reassurance of your love. Be conscious of the difference.

XXX Leandra

Related Posts

See All


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page